防火牆和網路介面

路由器的目標是將傳入網絡介面的封包流轉發到傳出的網絡介面。 防火牆規則增加了另一層粒度(granularity)到是否允許跨介面轉發-以及哪些封包是被允許從路由器輸入或輸出。本節討論防火牆代碼和網絡介面之間的關係。

所有路由器的核心是個帶有多個介面埠的硬體交換機。當封包進入交換機的一埠時,該交換機將匹配封包裡的固定欄位的封包轉發到輸出埠並傳輸它。

交換機通常使用第2層中目的地之媒體存取控制(MAC)位址來交換。 每個埠都有可觸及(附於其上)的各站(station)MAC位址的快取記憶體。 MAC位址快取中的條目會逐漸刪除,因此如果要再次使用該位址,則必須重新發現它。含有已知目的地的MAC位址的第2層框架(frame)會被切換到所欲的LAN埠。如果交換機的快取中都不存在該MAC位址,則為廣播封包(例如ARP)會發到所有LAN埠,以發現哪個埠可以存取目的地MAC位址。

OpenWrt路由器具有兩種類型的LAN介面:有線乙太網(IEEE802.3或RFC894以太網II,最常見的是以太網II。)和無線乙太網(IEEE802.11)

每個有線LAN埠都直接對應到一個交換機埠。通常只有一個802.11 wifi埠連接到Wifi射頻晶片(2.4Ghz,5Ghz)。 每個埠處理一個或多個IEEE802.11標準協議(例如802.11a,802.11n)以及對無線網路的輔助支援(例如802.11s網狀網絡)。wifi晶片可轉換802.11信號並注入到交換機埠中用於路由的正準乙太網框架中。連接到802.11存取點的所有wifi站都使用相同的射頻電波和相同的交換機埠。

LAN橋接器將WLAN埠與有線LAN埠結合在一起以創建一個邏輯的網絡。在“介面”組態集合中的option type bridge 或在LuCI中的網路→介面→ LAN 橋接介面框中,選擇所欲的實體介面來橋接在一起。所有橋接器中的埠都將做為單個網路。

新的虛擬介面在其名稱前通常加一個br-,即br-lan

:!: 在組合WLAN和有線乙太網埠的場合時使用橋接。 否則應將埠分為多個VLAN。

參見: 橋接器防火牆

OpenWrt路由器的防火牆能夠將收集到的介面分配到區域中,以更邏輯地過濾流量。 可以任一區域配置為任何一組介面,但通常至少有兩個區域:lan是LAN介面的集合而wan是WAN介面的集合。

通過在概念上對介面進行分組,這在某種程度上簡化了防火牆規則的邏輯:

  • 規則之一:源自某區域的封包必須進入路由器上的某區域的介面之中,
  • 規則之二:轉發到某區域的封包必須從路由器上的某區域的介面離開。

:!: 認識到區域這概念並不能顯著地簡化一個簡單的SOHO路由器。它具有單個br-lan介面和單個wan介面。 每個介面都有一個與區域與它一對一對應。

下列文件說明 VLAN 和其使用:

劃分為多個VLAN的交換機更加有助於組織交換機埠。建議把每個VLAN與區域一對一對應。使用VLAN架構的優點是可以使用VLAN ID標記封包以消除路由/防火牆決策時的模糊。

This website uses cookies. By using the website, you agree with storing cookies on your computer. Also you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Privacy Policy. If you do not agree leave the website.More information about cookies
  • Last modified: 2020/09/29 03:52
  • by josedai.work_gmail.com

User Tools

Site Tools


docs:guide-user:firewall:fw3_network

Firewall and Network Interfaces

The goal of a router is forward packet streams from incoming network interfaces to outgoing network interfaces. Firewall rules add another layer of granularity to what is allowed to be forwarded - and additionally what is allowed to be inputted to, and outputted from,l the router itself. This section discusses the relationships between the firewall code and the network interfaces.

At the heart of all routers is a hardware switch with a number interface ports. When a packet enters one of the switch ports, the hardware switch matches a fixed field in the packet and forwards the packet to an output port which transmits it. The switch generally uses the the layer-2 destination MAC address in the packet to switch on. Each port has a MAC cache, which gradually ages-out. If the destination MAC is not bound to a port, other protocols (e.g. ARP) are used to discover which switch port can deliver a packet to the destination MAC.

OpenWrt routers have two types of LAN interface: wired ethernet (IEEE802.3 or RFC894 Ethernet II, Ethernet II being the most common) and wireless ethernet (IEEE802.11.)

The wired LAN ports each map directly to a single switch port. Generally there is one 802.11 wifi port attached to a Wifi radio chip (2.4Ghz, 5Ghz). Each handles one or more IEEE802.11 standard protocols (e.g. 802.11a, 802.11n) and ancillary support for wireless networks (e.g. 802.11s mesh networking). The wifi chips convert the 802.11 signal into a canonical ethernet frame injected into the switch port for routing. All wifi stations connected to the 802.11 Access Point use the same radio(s) and the same switch port.

Layer-2 frames with a known destination MAC are switched to the desired LAN port. If the MAC is not present in the switch cache, a broadcast packet (e.g. ARP) is flooded to all LAN ports to discover which has access to the destination MAC. After that the destination MAC is bound to that port for a period of time.

LAN Bridge

The LAN bridge combines the WLAN interface(s) with the wired LAN ports to create a single logical network. In the interface configuration set option type bridge or in LuCI Network→Interfaces→LAN Bridge interfaces box and select the physical interfaces to bridge together. All switch ports in the bridge will act as a single network.

The new psuedo-interface has a br- prepended to the interface name, generally br-lan.

:!: Use bridging when combining WLAN and wired ethernet ports. Otherwise partition the ports into VLANs.

Firewall Zones

The firewall of an OpenWrt router is able to collect interfaces into zones to more logically filter traffic. A zone can be configured to any set of interfaces but generally there are at least two zones: lan for the collection of LAN interfaces and wan for the WAN interfaces.

This simplifies the firewall rule logic somewhat by conceptually grouping the interfaces:

  • a rule for a packet originating in a zone must be entering the router on one of the zone's interfaces,
  • a rule for a packet being forwarded to a zone must be exiting the router on one of the zone's interfaces.

:!: recognize the zone concept does not significantly simplify a simple SOHO router with a single br-lan interface and a single wan interface. Each interface has a one-to-one mapping with a zone.

Firewall and VLANs

VLAN provisioning and use is documented in:

A switch partitioned into multiple VLANs futher helps to organize the switch ports. It is recommended that each VLAN map one-to-one with a zone. The advantage to using a VLAN architecture is the packets are tagged with the VLAN id to disambiguate routing/firewall decisions.

docs/guide-user/firewall/fw3_network.txt · Last modified: 2018/10/20 05:22 by 54806b45